Stocking meals & meal planning challenge

Last year I joined in on an “Eating down the pantry challenge” where the goal was to only buy necessary food items while using up everything in your pantry and freezer.  The challenge went well but it ended with us just having an almost empty pantry and freezer.  It was nice to start with a clean slate.   We could build a stock of food we know we would use, not to mention getting rid of some seriously out-of-date  items.  However, this year I  want to do things differently.  I am going to do a “Stocking meals & meal planning challenge.”  I am starting with an almost empty freezer and reasonably stocked pantry.  My goal is to stock pile actual homemade meals and to “plan” all my meals each week.

I hope to make this a way of life instead of a short challenge.  It will allow my family to eat  healthier meals since there will be something pre-planned ready to eat.  Right now this is a major need for our household budget.  Food is our most erratic of spending areas.  Food costs are straining for many family’s budgets right now and we are no exception.   We are so fortunate to have enough for our family but money is tight and we, like so many, never have a chance to forget that.  Honestly, I find it a blessing to be where I am.  To be so very thankful for enough, period and no buts… to follow.  Just thankful for what I have, where I am and who I am with.  The simplicity I have been seeking is seeping into my life in many forms.  I am thankful for fewer distractions to notice it.

Back to basics and A starting point:

3 bags of homemade vegetable soup

1 bag of the waffle/ pancake mix

If you would like to join me in this challenge please do!  I’d love the support.  Or if you have any easily frozen meal ideas I would LOVE to hear them too!  Wish me luck!

Just found this amazing blog with fabulous homemade recipes and plastic free too!

This entry was posted in budget living, cooking, meal ideas, Simplify and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stocking meals & meal planning challenge

  1. emmycooks says:

    I try to keep hearty soups, chili, and cooked beans in my freezer. With any of those plus a homemade bread or pot of rice, I can quickly have a healthy and inexpensive meal ready.

  2. Jenn says:

    Thanks! It is a good idea to have cooked beans ready to go. I am always running into the “dry bean” situation when I am pulling a meal together last minute. Great tip for all of us.

Leave a Reply

