Fall Decorating

I have yet to load up on pumpkins, gourds, hay bales, and corn stalks.  Ohhh but I will shortly!  I love everything about fall.  I decorated the family room mantel as my kick-start into the fabulous fall season.

In keeping with my need to be a minimal consumer and eco-friendly, I used items I already had around the house and a few squashes from our garden. 

The large blue/ grey shutter is from the front of our house which we replaced this year.  The rusty metal plant holder looking thing is from my grandfathers barn and had belonged to my great-grandfather.  I love the look of it.  I have had it in my garage forever just waiting for the perfect use.  The lantern belong to him as well.  I set up the large pieces first then filled in smaller pieces for color and interest.  I like the way it turned out but I may change it around a few more times as I usually do with these things.

   

  The first layout.  It didn’t last long.

The current layout.  I think some tweaking will be coming soon.  For now, I am enjoying the view.

 

This entry was posted in fall, holiday decorating, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fall Decorating

  1. Very nice! Love the lanterns, and I agree, the second layout is much better.

Leave a Reply

