Odds and Ends #4

Around the  House

A drink holder– It has been a long time since I have had to use one of these from a restaurant.  After only using it for about 5 minutes I couldn’t bring myself to just throwing it away.  I had no idea what I was going to do with it but I felt guilty just pitching it.  Luckily a need presented itself later that day.   My daughter wanted to paint with her water colors.  I use the same glass jar for the water so this time I put the jar into the drink holder.  It made it so much easier for her to dip her paint brush into the jar without the jar sliding all over the place.  It worked so well that I saved the drink holder in our craft kit and pulled it out to hold 4 mugs when we dyed Easter eggs.  This was great, especially since I could just envision colored dye spilling all over the place as Madelyn excitedly dunked the eggs. 

   

Madelyn received this doodle pad as a gift this past christmas which she loved but It didn’t last very long.  The board would no longer erase properly.  I removed the drawing board and placed a piece of her artwork in the “frame” instead.  It easily clipped back together so we now use it to display her pictures.  That’s one less plastic frog in the landfill for now.

 

 

Homemade laundry detergent:  I just had to make my 3rd batch since September.  I am finding that each batch is lasting me about 3 months.  Using this recipe for laundry detergent  I am estimating that it costs me about $.85-$.90 a month for detergent.  I also wash most loads in cold water.  The detergent is all natural and works well to clean our clothes.  I have said before that we buy clothes second-hand the majority of the time (and all the time this year).  Have you ever wondered why the clothes you buy at consignment stores and garage sales all have a distinct smell to them which seems to be the same no matter which place they came from?  The smell is laundry detergent residue.  The chemical smell from the fragrance added in these detergents seems to hold on forever.  That can’t be good for you.  My sister just gave me back a box of clothes that no longer fit her daughter and the clothes had no smell to them because her detergent has no added fragrance.

This is how much a batch makes me.  Not pictured:  I also had a jar filled which gave me 5 mores loads worth of detergent.

 

Ingredients:  1 cup Washing Soda, 1 cup Borax, 1 bar Castile Soap

Happy Washing!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Odds and Ends #4

  1. Kate says:

    I just started making laundry detergent too! It is so great… and so much cheaper. I also enjoyed reading about all the other things you make at home. I’ve done the cleaners, but I’ll have to try the deodorant! What do you put it in?

    • Jenn says:

      I put the deodorant in an old empty deodorant container. It works really well. I keep the container in a zip lock bag because the homemade deodorant is softer than regular deodorant but it twists up and down just like the store bought stuff. You can also just put it in a jar with a lid and apply with your fingers.

  2. sassy says:

    I use that same home made detergent, and it really works well! What a fantastic way to save money and help eliminate plastic containers from being used! ! !

  3. I just love how you re-purposed the drawing board. Such a great idea!

Leave a Reply

