Organizing it Green: Craft Supplies

With a burst of creative energy came the need to organize all my craft supplies.  I don’t have a craft room but with 2 little ones I can’t really hang out in a room that’s all my own anyway.  Mr. “I bet that tastes good” would have a field day in a craft room swallowing buttons and chewing ribbon.  Oh Boy!  Pun intended.

As always I wanted to organize without purchasing new storage containers and without sending tons of perfectly usable containers to a landfill.  I believe know that every little bit helps.  I have a bag next to our recycling box where I throw random containers that I think I might be able to repurpose.  I have been intentionally saving containers with craft supplies in mind.  Here are some of my choices:

Here are the craft supplies ( well the smaller stuff anyway):

What I did:  I glued ribbon around the top of the containers I chose to use for a little “pretty”.  I sorted items into like categories and ta dah!  That’s it!  $0.00 spent, 0 new items purchased,  13 containers saved from landfill, and an Organized Craft Area.  I have an adhesive hook to attach to the side of the cabinet.   I will hang an empty bag there to use when I need to craft in a different location.  I will fill the bag with what I need from the cabinet and go!  Oh and the cabinet I used once held shirts and such in our bedroom.   With our simplification of all “things”  I was able to free this up for my crafts.  Yeah!     

    

         

Linking to these parties:

Organizing Mission Monday, A Bowl full of lemons, Handy man, Crafty woman,  Not Just a Housewife, Metamorphosis Monday, Coastal Charm, Tip Junkie, Thrifty Decor Chic

This entry was posted in crafts, declutter, frugal living, green living, non-consumerism, organization, recycle, reuse, Simplify and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Organizing it Green: Craft Supplies

  1. Becky says:

    I think it is wonderful that you use containers you already have! I don’t intentionally “go green” (even though I should) but I like organizing without buying anything more containers.

  2. Awesome job! I love how you revamped everything to “cute-ify” it with supplies you already have!
    Thanks for linking to my Organzing Mission Link party!

  3. xmaggiex says:

    hiya great project and tutorial , i am visitng from handy man crafty woman and i am your newest follower too hope you can visit me too check out my coffee jar storage x
    xmaggiex

  4. This looks so cute! Thanks for linking this up to our Wicked Awesome Wednesday party at Handy Man, Crafty Woman. I hope you’ll come back again this week!

Leave a Reply

