Spring Mantel and Sign Project

I was featured at .  Thank You:)

Another $0.00 project!  Reuse what you have, It’s amazing what you can find when you shop at home!

After Christmas time my mantel is usually simply decorated.  I have noticed this pattern forming over the years and it must be because during the Christmas season the mantel is jam-packed with stockings, villages, you name it!  By the time I remove all the Christmas decor the house seems bare.  I like it that way once the red and green are gone.

Now it is time for Spring and I am ready to change it up.  I am ready to add a little more stuff back onto the mantel.  This is the one place in my home that I know the kids can not reach or tamper with anything.  So have can put out a few favorites that have been in hibernation.  This is my post-Christmas mantel.  I really do love it,  it is calming and I have a thing for Jars!

 

I, of course, grabbed a laundry basket and headed to the basement to the land of forgotten decorations.  These are some of the things I brought back up.

     

    

    

Then I just started playing around with different combinations.  I am always so amazed by other people’s design abilities.  They seem to put things together so effortlessly.  I just keep trying things until it looks right to me, but I know there is scale and texture, etc that I should be thinking about.   Oh well, I’ll stick to being a frugal, Green, Repurposer and let the designers design.

   

I wanted a sign of some sort so I took a flap off of a box, Stapled fabric to it, cut out letters from more fabrics and glued the letters on the craft gun.  I used a hidden push-pin to attach the sigh to a rustic wooden picture frame I had.  I removed the glass and picture from the frame.  Again this make the frame and/or sign reusable.:)  Always thinking Green!

   

  

   

       

                

I rolled up the fabric that I used to make the sign letters and put them into the basket to bring the color across to the right side.   This helped everything seem more cohesive to me.  I used a few crepe paper yellow  flowers in the jug to balance the light orange-yellow carnival looking glass on the opposite end.

I am really happy with how it turned out!  For now:)

Before

After

    

I am always looking for more inspiration so if you have posted your mantel and/ or spring decor I would love for you to link to it in my comment section so I and others can check it out.  Thanks and Happy Spring!

Linking to:

Keeping It SimpleMakingPhotobucketHOGPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketall crafts Homemade Projects ~ Add Yours!Beyond The Picket FenceHookingupwithHoHPatches of Pink Button 1Photobucket

This entry was posted in budget decorating, crafts, DIY, frugal living, green living, reuse and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Spring Mantel and Sign Project

  1. So creative! Love this post…thank you for linking up to Whassup Wednesday! Hope to see you tomorrow:)

    xoxokara

  2. Linda@Coastal Charm says:

    Looking good…love all your jars and that COOL jug!!! Thanks so much for comung to my party.

    Blessings,
    Linda

  3. Lori says:

    Great mantel. I love using stuff I have just lying around!

  4. sena garrett says:

    Love those vintage jars! The blue ones are so coveted (especially by me)! 😉
    xo,
    Sena

  5. Oh I love those jars!! Great post!

  6. Erin says:

    It looks great!!! 🙂

    I love using the stuff I have in a new way! That’s why I have a hard time getting rid of my decorations. 🙂

    Oh, and I know my vignettes do NOT come together easily. LOL I tweak and step back, tweak, take a picture, tweak, step back….and repeat over and over. LOL 🙂

  7. Leen says:

    I love this!! It came out so beautiful, your efforts were well worth it 🙂
    Love, love, love the rolled up fabrics in the basket, I never would have thought of that!

  8. Sherri S says:

    love that you used items on hand (so did i!) . loveeeee the washboard!!! and the old jars. great idea on using the fabric in the basket. and i have old medicine jars on my mantel …so loving the canning jars.

  9. Lisa says:

    from one Mason jar lover to another…I LOVE IT!

  10. source says:

    Please email me with some tips about how you made your website look like this , I would be appreciative.

Leave a Reply

