Organizing the mail and making it pretty too!

After a brief trip and break from organizing the mood to continue struck me today.  I want to tackle paper issues.  Specifically mail that needs to be paid and replied to. 

This is our corner unit.  I bought it at an auction years ago for $75.00 and it might just be my favorite piece of furniture in the house.   It would look wonderful painted white but I love the natural look too so for now it will stay this way.  It is in our dining room which is the walk through between our kitchen and family room.  Our dining room is home to the dinner table.  Our kitchen is not an eat-in kitchen therefore this room is used daily.  I turned the top section into a mail station.

                                   Before                                                                        After           

 

 

Here’s what I did…

I used a hot glue gun to adhere fabric to this $.99 office caddy.  I clipped a clothes pin to the back of it to hold my checkbook. 

     And then filled it with office supplies.            

 

Next I used scrap denim fabric to cover a diaper wipes box.  I wrap the material around the box and tucked it inside.  I placed a piece of cardboard inside to hold material in place.  No glue, tape, etc.

I used scrapbook paper to make 2 hanging folders. 

  • Fold paper in half and staple sides together
  • Staple a strip of fabric or ribbon to the back flap only.
  • Embellish-I used sticker letters
  • Hang- I used push pins

I had a small chalkboard that I kept moving from place to place but never really used.  I think It will get a lot of use now.  I hot glued laundry clothes pins to each side of the chalkboard, covered them with fun paper, and added letter stickers.  Then I used my staple gun to attach a strip of fabric at the top to hold a piece of chalk.  One clip is for bills that need to be paid,  the “write” side is for anything I need to respond to.  I use the chalkboard for reminds like who I need to send a thank you note to.

I can still just close the doors and no one will see the clutter but it will look pretty when I do leave them open.  The results…

Now it will be enjoyable tolerable to pay the bills.  Now I am off to tackle the rest of the papers that seem to take over the house 🙂  By the way this entire project cost me $1.38.  I had everything around the house except the office caddy $.99 at Thrift Store and Milk Glass for $.37 at Thrift Store.  Yes .37 cents!

Linking to:  hereJoin us Saturdays at tatertotsandjello.com for  the weekend wrap up party!    hereIHeart Organizing     here

herehere   here,   Chic on a Shoestring Decoratinghere

UndertheTableandDreaminghere    here     Polish The Starshere   organizing mission monday link party here

here      here      here all crafts Handmade Projects ~ Add Yours!here    here

This entry was posted in budget decorating, declutter, DIY, frugal living, organization, reuse, Simplify, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Organizing the mail and making it pretty too!

  1. megan says:

    great idea! I am constantly fighting with my mail.

    megan
    craftycpa.blogspot.com

  2. It is amazing how just dressing up an area and organizing it can put us in the mood to do something isn’t it?
    Thanks so much for linking this to my Organizing Mission Monday link party!

  3. 4XC2mrxOBZT says:

    393046 36001An extremely fascinating read, I may possibly not concur completely, but you do make some really valid points. 913641

Leave a Reply

