Organizing/ Simplifying the kitchen part 1

BeforeAfter

Above is the spice cabinet I previewed the other day.  Here is what it looks like now. I painted the inside of the door with Chalkboard paint.  This is where I tend to hang recipes and notes anyway.   I found new homes for a few things, placed everything into categories and grouped like items.  Total cost:  About $1.oo worth of chalkboard paint.

As I continue to organize I don’t plan to buy any “new” items to organize or decorate with.  I will look around my home first, I probably already have everything I need.  Secondly, I will hunt thrift stores with lists for items I need.

Before                                                                     After

For this I just went on a quick scavenger hunt for containers to store things in.  I used a box and I cut down the sides, a disposable pan I had used to bake with, and Tupperware that had seen better days or had no lid.  I also added a few things to an ever-growing “Donate” section which is now taking over my basement.  I am just fine with using what I already have around the house as organizational tools.  A bonus to this method is that when the mood strikes you to organize you don’t have to wait a go to the store for supplies.  Dive right in.  It only takes one trip to the store for me to lose motivation or become distracted with a new project. 

It is never out of mind when I am heading to the garbage can that maybe this “thing” can be used for something else.  I don’t however stockpile things to a point where I can build a wall out of yogurt containers I have kept on hand “just in case.”  I try to find the balance. 

  •  If the item can be used by someone else I pass it along;  give, donate, sell
  • If I can use it in a new way that is beneficial to me (ie. disposable bake pan turned storage compartment) I do.
  • Recycle
  • Only after that do I just throw it out.

I have a portion of a shelf in my kitchen cabinet to store small reusable containers.  Right now that is mostly baby food jars.  I give away my surplus but, as I have these on hand I am finding more and more uses for them.

I have a bag near our recycling bin to keep larger reusable items.  If I don’t come up with something to use them for in a reasonable time they go into the bin.

Pairing down all this stuff room by room, drawer by drawer feels great!  Simplifying to achieve my goals.  A greener, intentional, simplified life.

Words Worth Repeating

Simplify with me, you will be so glad you did.

Thanks for stopping by!  Linking to I’m an Organizing Junkie and  here and tohere.           here.

This entry was posted in budget decorating, declutter, DIY, organization, Simplify, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Organizing/ Simplifying the kitchen part 1

  1. I keep used glass containers of all sizes on hand. Like you, I find they have many many uses. I especially like mayonnaise jars. I also agree that it’s great to try to use things you have on hand for any job before buying. Since we have no steady income, I am doing this much more than I used to (I used to just go out and buy whatever worked best or was designed for the job, since the item was usually pretty inexpensive anyway), and I feel great about consuming less. I love thrift store shopping too!

  2. jeana says:

    This is one of the last things on my list to do for spring cleaning. I think you’ve motivated me to get it done! Looks great!

  3. allysgrandma says:

    Looks great! And good ideas for recycling too!

  4. The Bearded Iris says:

    I LOVE the chalkboard paint on the inside of your cabinet door! Brilliant. I need to do more scavenging in my own house. I made the mistake of going to Ikea for week one and spending a ton on a fancy organizer. Definitely want to simplify and be more intentional. My last few projects haven’t cost a dime though. It does feel good to see the progress, doesn’t it?! Thanks for sharing your philosophy!

    • Jenn says:

      Oh that IKEA! I love that place! It would be very dangerous for me to go there now. They have so many affordable wonderful things. It’s better I just stay away:) Congrats on already completing a few projects. It feels so motivating to check a few things off the list! Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

