Thrift Shop Stop and DIY’s

 

     I found a new thrift shop this weekend.  You have no idea how this thrills me!  I was also alone, no kids on this trip. Bonus!   Don’t get me wrong, I bring my kids to thrift stores and consignment shops all the time but you understand the difference.  Full concentration on bargains to be had.  As I walked into the store the owners said “everything in the store is $.99 except jewelry.  Well than LOOK OUT!  I found this sheet (pictured below) I plan to use for the fabric and thought it just looked pretty in a bow.  Those shoes are for me and I love them-and yes they were $.99.  The cute cardigan is for Madelyn in a about a year, the Numbers Bingo is for both kids, I also bought Liam 2 shirts and a pair of pants, and a black cardigan for myself.  I could have done way more damage than that but I am trying to always remember to be a mindful consumer.  As my daughter says:  “Sometimes it’s hard.”  Although buying used items fits in with The Compact it still isn’t necessary to have more than one person could ever use or need.  Believe me I have fallen victim to the  ” but it was such a good deal” mantra that plays over and over again in my head.  18 “things” later I haven’t saved a cent and now I have to go buy another bin to put all that stuff in!  🙂

I have begun some minor organizing in my kitchen.  As any project goes with me, I like to focus on the fun stuff first.  I used chalkboard paint on a few of my glass/ ceramic containers as a way to label and be decorative at the same time.  I really like the way it turned out.

I will be organizing my spice cabinet next.  I will show you how it looks and what I did.   Here is a before picture: 

I am finding that these small organizing bites allow me to progress much more quickly than trying to take on a whole room at once.  What are you working on right now?

Linking to here.

Gallery | This entry was posted in budget decorating, budget living, consumerism, crafts, declutter, frugal living, green living, organization, reuse, Simplify, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

